Missed a story? Search the news in the box below.

Yobe: IPAC demands transition councils in 17 LGAs as chairmen’s tenures expire

Listen to this article

The Yobe State chapter of the Inter-Party (*17*) Council (IPAC) has demanded transition in the 17 native authorities areas of the state as the tenure of elected chairmen will expire this month.

IPAC’s secretary in the state, Muktar Garba, offered the demand whereas briefing pressmen on Saturday in Damaturu.

He recalled that the state authorities, by way of the State Independent Electoral Commission (YOSIEC), had given all political events a degree enjoying floor for participation over the past councils’ election.

“We are confident that YOSIEC will improve on the last exercise for a transparent, credible and acceptable election in the next dispensation”, he mentioned.

Garba emphasised the necessity for the electoral physique in the state to make satisfactory preparations to present the political events satisfactory time to arrange for the following election.

“This is necessary because the political parties are committed to not only participate and contest, but to win the elections; hence, the need for adequate time to enable both YOSIEC and the parties to effectively prepare for the exercise,” he acknowledged.

The (*17*) Council additionally tasked the Yobe State Government to supply satisfactory funds and a time-frame of not lower than 12 months for the State Independent Electoral Commission and the events to adequately put together for the ballot.

“In this vein, IPAC needs to counsel {that a} transition council be constituted for the 17 native authorities councils. Members of the transition council needs to be made up of individuals with expertise in native authorities administration to run the native authorities councils for the following two months till a brand new election is performed.

“It is our hope that the state House of Assembly would support the executive arm of government to achieve the set goals,” he mentioned.

Yobe: IPAC demands transition councils in 17 LGAs as chairmen’s tenures expire

Go to Source

READ ALSO  Senate summons Finance Minister over unexplained N147bn in Ministry of Power budget